Hurrah! I’ve finally been able to sit long enough (and reach forward and move my foot, all at once! lol) that I’ve been able to SEW! It’s been more than a month since I’ve been able to spend time in my sewing room. I’ve been chomping at the bit to do this SWAP sewing.

Today I sewed in the underarm gussets of the Sewing Workshop’s TeaGarden T that I’m making from a peachy colored paisley print cotton interlock knit. I took the advice of one of the reviewers at patternreview.com and sewed color coded thread tacks at the matching points of the gusset and the top. Luckily this tacking was something I could do while lying flat! It really helped the gussets go in smoothly. Tomorrow I’ll sew hems in the bodice and sleeves and do a bit of hand sewing around the back of the neck/collar.

Teagarden T

The TeaGarden T pattern is a fascinating shape; only one pattern piece plus a small gusset. The pattern instructions credit Marcy Tilton with the design. I read somewhere that one of the earlier Issey Miyake patterns was the inspiration.

On the subject of SWAP 2008, I’m slowly coming to terms with the idea that I will not be completing this SWAP by April 11th. I had plenty of time the past couple of weeks (while still flat in bed, but not in SO much pain) to try to work out how I could meet the requirements; for a while I thought I could do it, with the addition of a simplified jacket or vest. But then I carefully reread the rules and decided that two of my tops were never going to meet the ‘more like a blouse than a tshirt’ requirement. Both the Burda crossover top and the Teagarden T are definitely knit tops, no buttons or sleeve plackets or other such details to be seen…

