In response to this introduction to the Take It Further June concept, Paula wrote:

When you say, “it becomes a project,” it makes that sound like a bad thing. But a project is full of possibilities of it’s own. I think it’s interesting that Sharon acknowledges these possibilities when she says, “these materials can take on another story. They can be made into something new and take on other meanings in someone’s life,” but then turns around and says, “material moves from being something that is full of potential to a project,” denying the potential that she previously acknowledged.

To which I responded:
“Interesting. Thanks for pointing that out. Maybe the process is somewhat different for crazy quilters, especially since they sort of make up their designs and decide to use pieces of their stash as they go along.

For garment sewing however, once you’ve cut a garment out of your fabric you’ve necessarily limited what garment is possible from that fabric. Now I will concede that there are things you can be creative about as you are constructing that garment; also opportunities to make changes (within the parameters of the cut pieces) as you tweak the fit and miscellaneous things like buttons and topstitching. But once I’ve done the planning, designing and cutting I often feel as though I just have to do the drudgery.”

Luckily Paula doesn’t hesitate to give me honest feedback and make me think. So of course she had more good points:

But a garment project is full of mystery and possibilities. Will it turn out? Will it be flattering? Will I feel fabulous when I wear it? Will it end up as a dress or will I turn it into a top? Will I keep it or pass it along? Will I scrap it and make a quilt with the pieces? What will happen to me when I wear it? Will I get the job? Meet the love of my life?

I think a garment have maybe even more potential to write new stories than a quilt. Of course I’m speaking as someone who has never really quilted so I may be biased.

Hmmmmmm. I do think that crazy quilting and some types of scrap quilting include more creative decision-making while stitching/piecing than following a strict pattern or using a kit. I guess that aspect, being able to make decisions about the final result while actually constructing the piece, holds a lot of appeal to me. Once the creative and drafting/altering decisions are done, I tend to lose interest.

I guess I was thinking only of the immediate loss of possibilities due to cutting, not the future possibilities of that particular project. I was also thinking of the work and time needed to get the sewing done.

But the truth is that I have plenty of fabric and ‘losing’ one piece to a possibly poor decision will not make much difference in the long run of my life. lol. And certainly I can’t wear the flat fold pieces in my stash, so if I leave them uncut I’ll certainly never be able to find out the answers to your questions above!

