I’m in Denver for a few days! I’ve managed to spend time at the Botanical Gardens and eat lunch there, eat Southern Indian food at a buffet one night and take long walks in the nearby park with the resident dogs.

My daughter took me to JoAnn Fabrics to pick up a cardboard cutting board, some pattern tracing paper, buttons for a future blouse and a pattern for layette clothing. Yesterday my son-in-law and I went to Denver Fabrics (the brick and mortar one) to search for fabrics to make baby slings/wraps/carriers. He fell hard for some $69/yd silk decorator fabric but couldn’t quite bring himself to buy the 3 yds needed for a carrier. lol. But he’s still considering whether or not he can figure out something for the house or ?? with maybe only a 1/3 yard piece… šŸ˜€ He’s a carpenter by trade, with college majors in Art, Biology and Political Science.

I’m helping break in a new Bernina Activa 240. Yeah, life is tough. šŸ˜‰ So far I’ve hemmed the linen pants I made before traveling here and figured out what changes I’ll make to the pattern before making it again (Sewing Workshop Ikina pants), worked on two ‘mattress covers’ (aka fitted sheets) for the crib, traced a Kwik Sew blouse/shirt pattern for me and a newborn-sized pant from McCalls (upon request…) and am considering cutting out another pair of linen pants and sewing together a pair of shorts for myself. If I am able to figure out how to use their camera, I’ll post a pic of the cute flannel she picked for one of the sheets.

Okay, back to sewing machine. The second sheet is ready for the elastic/hems.

