Sometimes in the winter my dh likes to hop in his semi truck and haul stuff around the country for hire. Several years ago his truck of choice was a red Mack tricked out to haul flat bed and/or wide or heavy loads.

Bedding for the sleeper cab is always a challenge as the custom mattresses vary according to the size of the truck. My solution has been to buy a dark colored cotton California King sized sheet set and recut it to fit the bed. That usually works for the sheets, but then the blankets are a different problem. No standard blanket is long enough for the bed and if they are long enough, they are generally too wide.

I planned this quilt with a few parameters in mind. It needed to be dark enough to not show dirt easily, quickly and easily pieced, related somehow to the truck colors (red with black interior), and something a man would be willing to sleep under. lol

I collected a variety red fabrics, from orange-red to blue-red, but with no white. Then I found an older Jinny Beyer grey and red border fabric that would work for sashing and borders. The piecing of the red fabrics was of random width Chinese coins, with the sets rearranged as I pieced them. The final decisions on the arrangement of the reds was done while lying in bed recovering from some broken bones. (This is starting to seem like a theme…) The borders were added with no fancy mitering…this is a utility quilt.

truck quilt

I have only this one photo after my mother-in-law and I had tied it and just taken it out of her floor frame, but before the edges were finished.

Getting better photos of those gorgeous fabrics is on my to-do list.

DH’s winter job has some side benefits for me; a couple winters ago he stopped and picked up a Bernina sewing machine that I had purchased on PatternReview.com from a gal in Denver. ‘Free’ delivery!

