I’ve volunteered to fill in to do a few stage decorations for the high school spring choral concert next Monday. We could just buy some flowers and stick them in vases along the front of the stage.

Or we could use the bags of ripstop scraps that we found in the closet and make some spring flowers.

Here are some test flowers to see where this is all going…

"Redbud" on the black mesh
Close-up to show how ripstop is attached

Close-up to show how ripstop is attached

Yellow ripstop attached to sticks from crab apple pruning

Yellow ripstop attached to sticks from crab apple pruning

Forsythia blossoms ready to wire to branches

Forsythia blossoms ready to wire to branches

The bright pink cut strips are the original color; I dunked the fabric into a red dye mixed with sapphire blue to get the color I remember from the redbud along the Illinois river bluffs here in the springtime.

Anyhow, back to making yellow flowers… I think I need about 600…

